The Worst Pep Talk Ever

Since KR is not available to present a video today, and I have not blogged since the beginning of NaNoWriMo, I will fill in the gap with my own rantings…

You would think that writing in the same world you’ve been writing in for a couple of years (or more) would be easy. Not so. You would think that writing a prequel that takes place centuries before the [chronologically] first story would be easy. Nope. You would think the words would flow easily when you already have a general idea of who lives and who dies, and how. Not a chance…

Behold, Marda!

Behold, Marda!

Here I am, during Week 3 of NaNoWriMo, and I am thousands of words behind, with no light at the end of the tunnel. My schedule is insane. My desire to write is falling to the side, and I am nearly at the point where I’m willing to accept defeat. Me, the determined one, ready to accept defeat? This does not compute…

I will admit, I went into this November knowing full well that I probably would not hit 50,000 words by the end of the month. I was willing to accept that, yet I still plugged away at the first 20,000 or so words –– and then I hit a wall. Seriously, once you start seeing the “I’m behind” numbers climbing into the thousands, and you realize you have only one day off this week –– and a busy day, at that –– and Thanksgiving is the next week, things start looking a little bleak… Okay, more than just a little… I can’t help but feel a twinge of despair while watching the wordcounts of others climbing higher and higher…

But let’s look at the other side of this:

  1. I have started a novel that I’ve only barely thought of in the past. I have some really good material here, and a general idea of where it’s going.
  2. I have 20,000+ words written. This is a feat that I cannot toss aside as worthless, no matter what the quality of the writing is.
  3. I now know that I have a heck of a lot of willpower when it comes to writing. So much, that I wrote 6,000 words on Day 7 to catch up. A full day of writing, that was, and more than I’d ever written in one day. Ever.
  4. I also know that I have limits. Why is this a good thing? Because knowing your limits is key to not getting burnt out.

So, even though I spent every free moment of the past few days writing what I now consider complete drivel and not valid to what I want for the story (yes, that did happen…), I plan to pretend the plot never went that way, write on, and do what I want with the story. Mind you, this means major rewriting, when the editing season comes upon us, but there you have it. [Author’s Note: Do not write from your frustrations, unless you truly want some of your best characters to die in horrible ways, far earlier than you had planned!]

As for winning… well… I am increasingly aware of this thing called, “real life,” to which I must submit before I write. Without it, I would not have ideas (or food, which is key), but with it, there is less time to write. However, it is my wish that I learn to juggle the two without dropping one or the other…

So, there is still hope, but… I’m not counting on having that ribbon appear on the cover of this year’s novel in my NaNo profile… Can’t win every time, ya’ know?

Apologies if that was the worst pep talk you’ve ever heard, but… There you have it!

Leave a comment

Filed under General, NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

