Welcome To The End, My Friend

I hope everybody had a great Thanksgiving, and hasn’t been wasting their time today buying crap when you could be producing instead. I’m also sure you’ll forgive me for not holding to my normal Thursday posting schedule yesterday. I didn’t even turn my computer on at all.

This is it, people. Week 4. The last seven days. It barely seems like enough time, does it? I think I’ve learned more about pacing and timing during this project than anything else. I feel like my story doesn’t really hit its midpoint until about 30k, or perhaps 35k. Now that I’ve hit 40k words, I feel that there is absolutely no way that I’m going to be able to wrap the story up in 10k words. What does that mean for my NaNo success? I’m definitely going to be hitting 50k words by November 30th, but I’m not sure when I’ll be writing “The End.”

NaNoWriMo Progress Metre - Day 23For the rest of you who have made it this far, how are you feeling going into Week 4? Are you happy with your novel so far? Do you think it has potential, given some editing? Or do you feel like it’s a pile of wordcrap? I’m a bit divided on mine. Sometimes, I think it’s pretty cool. Other times, the whole concept of it just seems completely ridiculous. I suppose I’ll have to wait to hear other peoples’ opinions on whether or not it seems like a coherent story. I’m certainly looking forward to December. On the other hand, I think I’m going to miss the pressure of having to write every day. There have been days where I didn’t know remotely what I was going to write about, but I knew that if I started somewhere, eventually I would get back on track for my main story. That means I ended up including a lot of little details about my characters that I probably otherwise wouldn’t have added. It will be interesting to see if this makes the story richer, or just more wordy.

Every now and then, I’ve had a huge surge of productivity, putting out 4.5-5k words in a twenty-four hour period. While I’ve found this to be pretty exhilarating when it happens, it’s not really all that useful overall for my productivity, as I’ve found that a period of massive word output is usually followed by a period of lethargy. It is particularly during these times that having a writing support group has been invaluable. Sometimes just the competition between us is enough to get me rolling again, and once I get in the groove, it’s usually fairly easy to continue producing. I’m happy that I’ve not dropped bellow par since Day 11. It’s been close on occasion, but I’ve always managed to reach the next day’s goal before midnight (so that when a day begins, I’ve already achieved the goal for that day).

What has NaNoWriMo taught me about myself as an author that I can take back to my normal life? I’m going to wait to answer that question more thoroughly until this week is over, but I can say one thing for sure right now. The experience of daily writing has proven to me that not only I am much more capable of producing material than I thought I was, but that I have a much more talent group of friends than I thought I did. I’ve also gained an extra level of respect for bloggers (yes, I put myself into the category of bloggers, but I’m not talking about myself here), especially those who are writing actual researched content, and not just “today I had a sandwich, and it was tasty,” which is more or less what I do. Make sure to check out Jabberwocky Anonymous for your weekly dose of literary analysis.

So until next week, happy writing. I look forward to seeing you all at the finish line.

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo

One response to “Welcome To The End, My Friend

  1. Ugh, I definitely overshot my NaNo setup. Logistically, I’m in a pickle, but story-wise, I’m quite happy with it. We’ll just have to see how it goes! =^_^=

Leave a Reply

