Taking My Own Medicine

Well, my fellow writers and readers, here we are on Day 19. Today’s goal is 31,666. Can you believe that we’ve already cracked the 30k mark? I’m honestly astounded when I look at my word count and see that it’s over 32k. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been finding Week 3 a struggle. I had just finished off Week 2 with an average word count of 2,000 words per day. I was on an emotional high, and although I knew that it probably wouldn’t last, I was excited to be writing.

I was correct. It didn’t last. Although I’ve managed to stay ahead of the goal each day so far this week, I’m down to an average of 1,707 words per day. When midnight rolls around, if I haven’t written anything, I’ll be bellow par for the first time in nine days. I wrote 750 words on Day 15, and 0 (yes, zero) on Day 16. I was bogged down again, and I didn’t know why.

But I’m not scared, and do you know why? Last night, I realized what my problem was. I had forgotten my own advice. My #1 requirement to be a writer. The very thing I started this blog in order to share. What is that? If you haven’t read the post, I said that my number one requirement to be a writer is that you must, and I mean must, be a reader. I hadn’t read anything other than my own produce in nearly a week, and I hadn’t written anything not NaNo related in over twenty days.

It was rather a shocking revelation. So last night, I sat down with a book that I’ve been making my way through for a while (Eisenhorn: Xenos by Dan Abnett, specifically) and spent an hour enjoying myself. And you know what? It worked. I’m excited to be writing again. I still don’t know exactly what I’m going to say. I’m sure that when I sit down at the keyboard, the words will come out in a trickle, not a torrent. But I’m ready to go. I like being a writer. Why did I start this project in the first place? Because I like writing. It’s fun.

If you’re feeling down, I recommend taking an hour or two and reading something completely unrelated to what you’re writing. Are you writing a fantasy? Read a mystery. Writing a romance? Try a page-turning thriller. Just get your mind out of the ruts you’ve allowed yourself to fall into the past 19 days or so, and find out how good you feel. Don’t tell me that you can’t afford to take the time. You can’t afford not to.

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Writing Advice

One response to “Taking My Own Medicine

  1. I watch movies. Sherlock (the TV series by BBC) has been a wonderful diversion, and it might actually be helping me write better. Yes, I should read, but…

Leave a Reply

